A Biological Journey- data & technology

Sophia Muo
4 min readJul 5, 2020

--

“Our world is built on Biology and once we begin to understand it, it then becomes a technology”

-Ryan Bethencourt

The knowing

In 2018, it dawned on me that I had spent the last four years in university without participating in extracurricular activities and developing any hard or soft skill set. I had graduated with a half paged résumé.
“I did not intend for my years to end up like that, I did not have a one-track mind, I wanted to become a neuroscientist”, I told myself.
The realization led me to attend my first conference in Molecular Biology and Bioinformatics…there is indeed a relationship between bioinformatics and neuroscience. The conference exposed me to the intrigues of the tech world, I understood the need for man and machine to come together to solve series of problems. The general beauty of science is in the hypothesis, ifs and question asking. The beauty of making technology a bulk part of science, especially biological science is the answers it aids to provide. I still required the necessary skills to be efficient in my newly found discovery, I felt a strong need to solve visible scientific problems, and I needed guidance. My mentor said to me in 2018

“Greatness is a process, start from the beginning, nothingness”.

Image from Frontiers

Nothingness

Now I have begun my journey from nothingness, I have found my niche (Virology, exploring the relationship between viral infections and neuro degenerative disease). To succeed in my niche I require certain technical skills to grow. I got tired of having ideas, requesting developers to take up the project and being rejected because “they do not have time for a side project” which is understandable or receiving a very huge payment invoice. Why ask when you can do it yourself right?

I have tried self learning, signing up for online classes, seminars etc to learn a language. The first few weeks it all goes well, until it is time to go deep into the program and I end up having questions I do not have answers to. I always need to understand a step before moving to the next step. This has been my biggest challenge and my biggest motivation to sign up for the Genesys Tech Hub 2020 learnable program.

The learnable program will have significant impact on my individuality and technical skills. At the end of the next six months, I expect to be more outspoken as a person, knee deep in with better understanding of front end development and to have found my “tribe”. I should be able to wake up to an idea requiring software development or data importation and give it life. Some times we need all the help we can get to succeed.

“You thrive when you have found your tribe”

During the induction event into the program, I realized I was not alone in this journey, nothing is indeed new under the sun and I was truly inspired. I am convinced that this is the next and necessary step in my journey…I am ready to learn. Looking back at the interview stage in the selection process, there were a number of strong points I can remember like being honest with my answers. I also had the opportunity to show my diversity in subject area that is coming in from the biological sciences. I enjoyed the aptitude test, it was excitedly challenging, the adrenaline rush! But I was glad when it was over. On the whole, the interview was well organized, I felt quite comfortable throughout.
With my interest in tech piqued, I was able to envision the future where every scientist should be knowledgeable in developing and or using software and applications, especially biological scientists. There are more than 4.2billion people in the world, hence, a lot of data exists. It is tasking to ask the human brain to collate and process all that data on its own. Data is a necessity to existence. I co-authored a Meta-analysis Research Paper on Herpes Simplex Virus in Nigeria and I realized the necessity for preexisting data, methods to collate these data and make them accessible at once.

“Software development is becoming an invaluable skill”

I am an intern at Genesys today because I have accepted and indicated my need for an instructor and mentor in order to achieve my tech goals. I believe we should have a DNA database and a microbial culture bank. Our biological scientist and students should be really involved in technology, biotechnology.

--

--